Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
zenna3

Haven't been on in years

10 posts in this topic

Hey all, I used to check out the hoof board a lot a few years ago, and I simply haven't been on in a while. Life getting all complicated, lol. 

So first, I want to thank Missyclare, and Trinity and a few of the other folks who used to be regular on here for all their long suffering help and advice when I had a lot to learn. Of course I am still learning, but I have become pretty good at keeping my two horses trimmed and no lameness issues from bad trims since I took over. I have been trying to advise some friends too, that they should learn more and take care of their own horses' hooves. It really is rewarding.

If Missyclare will remember, I had a laminitic gelding whose feet were kind of a nightmare, and I have managed to keep him sound and comfortable even through his relapses. Of course, I am better at managing that too, so he never gets bad. he's 21 this year and that means I have been getting his barefoot trims in hand for 13 years!! Success! 

So just wanted to pop in and say hi and thanks! and if I remember, I'll try to post some pictures.

Christine

Glad to have you back!  The boards definitely experienced a dramatic slow-down but I have seen it slowly increase over the past year.  The more we all participate, the more lively it will become!  I think that is great that you've been able to keep your horses comfortable yourself.

Missy, I want to second the thanks for patiently explaining hoof trimming and care. It taught me enough to keep my horse sound for the last 8 or nine years.

Oh, I'm around. Funny how life will catch you up and carry you away. I keep checking in. I look at it, like we are all smarter these days and that's a good thing.