Quantcast

Something About Mary (Wanless That Is!)

Posted by lwright, 16 April 2012 · 5,696 views

riding' training biomechanics
I have recently discovered Mary Wanless and the biomechanics of riding.  Why, oh why, didn’t  I discover Mary and her coaches a long time ago?  It would have saved me and my horse a great deal of pain and frustration.

I have been riding for over twenty years, spent an absolute fortune on lessons over the years.  I know how I am supposed to look on a horse and I know what it should feel like when horse and rider are truly connected but I failed to observe what I was doing or rather not doing to make that connection with the horse.

Mary Wanless is a physicist who has studied and can article the biomechanics of horse and rider.  Mary has also made it her life’s work to understand what elite, top riders do with their bodies when they ride and to share this with all riders of all abilities.

I was introduced to Mary’s way when I attended a five day course with Intelligent Horsemanship earlier this year.  My riding was assessed by a Mary Wanless accredited coach who re-sculpted me into the correct position.  She took pictures “before” and “after” she re-sculpted me and I couldn’t believe how different I looked.  I looked like I belonged on the horse!   She also explained that I should be “bearing down” in order to match the horse’s force and plugging in.  She explained the feeling I should be aware of in certain muscle groups and that I needed to have a feeling of “crunching” the front of my torso and breathing deeper using my diaphragm.  This was the tip of the iceberg and all things that no one, ever had said to me during a traditional instructor based riding lesson.   My reaction was “why has no one ever explained this to me?” to “is riding really this hard?”