Quantcast

Head Wrangler's Blog

Cowboys, Shiners & Quarter Horse Bars

Posted by Head Wrangler, 15 June 2012 · 352 views

I ride horses for a living ~ which makes for all kinds of interesting adventures. Like the day I was cantering Abby, a big, dappled buckskin QH mare, across a freshly-mown field, and she spotted a small sink-hole in the soil that hadn’t been visible yesterday, due to the tall grass. Well sir, to Abby that small hole must’ve looked just like the back door to ****, ‘cuz she sure locked up the binders! Which I was not really expecting, so it had the unfortunate result of throwin’ me to the left of center in my saddle ~ and naturally Abby, being a horse and a ‘flight’ animal, chose that exact moment to cut hard right, whereupon I executed an unplanned emergency dismount and a perfect ‘one-point’ landing ~ on my right eyebrow! Trying to hold onto the reins during my fall just resulted in some nice leather burns across 3 fingers of my left hand, as she lit out for the barn like her tail was on fire….

As I regained my feet and took stock of the situation, I realized that even though I wasn’t feeling any pain in my right eye, I did not seem to have any sight in it, either! Then, as I began to gather my wits and limp after my horse, I wiped the back of my hand across the eye and, lo and behold, as the blood was cleared away, I regained my sight!

Well, without boring you with all the trifling details, suffice it to say that I ended up with a beauty of a black eye (along with blue & purple, and yellow & magenta) that lasted for a good 2 weeks. The best part of the story was that immediately following my ride, I had a pulmonary function test scheduled at the local hospital, so while I was performing all of the breathing tests for the technician, I was busily wiping away blood & trying to hold a cold compress to my eye at the same time!