• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 usacowgurl

usacowgurl

• Members
  • Pip
  • 459 posts

Posted 09 February 2007 - 09:26 AM

I am still really thinking about what I want to do..right now I am majoring in mass communications but I am thinking about changing.

I am really interested in teaching. Right now special education is in high demand and I would have summers off.. not bad

I was also looking into therapeutic riding instructors. I am not sure how this works. I know I would have to start my own business.. but are they usually non-profit? I obviously want a career where I dont really have to worry about money.
Would it be easier to get a degree in teaching/special ed then maybe down the road I could start doing something with riding?
What is the median salary for a therapeutic riding instructor? I tried looking but couldnt find much. I would love just being with horses all day plus helping children.
Thanks!

#2 Fat Pony

Fat Pony

Il faut le faire

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,910 posts

Posted 09 February 2007 - 09:30 AM

You should look around for hippotherapy programs in your area. Being in Pennsylvania, there has to be at least one within a reasonable driving distance. I would suggest going and watching a few lessons, talking with the instructors, etc.

There's not much money in any facet of the horse world, so don't expect to rake it in. The average instructor working full time with a busy lesson schedule can make $30-40k a year, but you just really never know. Don't expect to be rich [Wink] [Big Grin]

#3 Babalu

Babalu

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 587 posts

Posted 09 February 2007 - 12:51 PM

I agree with Fat Pony, check out programs that have hippo and therapeutic riding...check out the NARHA for more info.