8 replies to this topic

#1 ..::Felda::..

..::Felda::..

.:Felda:.

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,949 posts

Posted 01 January 2009 - 08:46 PM

I've never used Quest before on my horses. I have used ComboCare tho. They both have the same ingredients in them too. I have been told about adverse reactions to the Quest dewormer while my horses have suffered no ill effects from the ComboCare. I'm looking to deworm again with Moxidectin soon on the next cycle and was going to just use Quest Plus, but I don't want to deal with any adverse reactions. Has anybody really had any bad reactions to this stuff? Is it something with the brand?
Is it possible to stay on topic to what the thread is about? Or has the population become so distracted it must resort to addressing every little allusion thus changing the direction of this thread and losing the topic? Have we lost the ability to recognize this problem and just start a new topic if the oppportunity arises? Please do so now if you feel so inclined to seek attention.

Phoenix: 2001 BLM Mustang

#2 cvm2002

cvm2002

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,981 posts

Posted 01 January 2009 - 08:57 PM

As with most internet myths, there is often some degree of truth behind distortion of the facts. The facts with Quest are: 1) When it was originally introduced, there was a problem with the locking mechanism on the tube, resulting in gross overdosing of ponies and foals. 2) The active ingredient moxidectin is the most powerful anthelminthic currently available, with the broadest spectrum of activity 3) Moxidectin has a narrower margin of safety than other drugs. Ivermectin for example has a 10x safety margin. Moxidectin is only about 4x.