• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 baylee

baylee

• Members
  • Pip
  • 280 posts

Posted 26 September 2009 - 05:05 PM

Some of you may remember the gelding that was given to me that has foot problems that i have been battling for a few years now, if not here is a refresher... http://forums.horsec...w...7011065&hl=

he is doing MUCHHHH better by the way...his right front is completely healed with no holes at all and the left only has one hole, but it will not heal, hasnt been lame this whole summer, until the past month he started abcessing again in the left, the drainage came out of the existing hole and every time it would heal enough to stop the drainage he would get lame and then it would drain again. so off to the vet we went and did some xrays...he has a little bone infection in there. vet said not bad but he wants to use polyflex or something like that, i think thats what the antibiotic is called. he said there is only a few antibiotics that will help. but the infection is hard to see in these pictures but if you are looking at the picture, its the right side of the coffin bone in the frontal view. but his abcess hole that wont heal is on the other side of the hoof....is it still possible that the bone infection is responsible for that hole?

so what are your experiences with bone infections and is there anything i can be doing to make sure he heals completely?

here are the xrays and i will be getting recent pictures of his feet this evening.

the front view is the left hoof and the side view is the right hoof, i dont know why he did this

left

My Boys:
Cash Sierra Classic 'Lil Man' - '93 AQHA gelding
Smart Kit 'Hef' - '04 AQHA gelding

Weed Patrol (pygmy goats):
Buddy, Bucky, Buttercup, Bella, Baya, Curly, and Boomer

Keeper of the goats (dog patrol):
Muffin- 6 yr old mini donkey

Dogs:
Joker- 10 yr old boxer
Denali- 2 yr old boxer
Teal - 3 yr old lab
Chico- 3 yr old chihuahua
Smoki- hes a cat, but thinks hes a dog...

#2 ..::Felda::..