5 replies to this topic

#1 Transplantedagain

Transplantedagain

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 592 posts

Posted 20 April 2010 - 09:44 PM

Hey all,

I have a very nice pair of Ariat dressage boots. They are only about 4 years old, and I'm an adult amateur, so they haven't been used hard. But one of the heels started to pull away from the sole. Tried to send them away to get the heel repaired and zippers added so it wouldn't happen again. They came back with a note from the tack shop stating they wouldn't work on Ariats.

So I started doing some research. Turns out Ariat has only 1 shop that they "allow" to work on their boots. I'm in Alabama, the shop is in CA. Okay, no problem, I'll ship 'em out there. But they won't agree to just reattach the heel; they are telling me that they may need to be re-soled. Okay. I had taken them to a local boot repair guy who told me he could easily re-glue the heel, he just didn't have a clamp long enough to hold it while it dried. So I'm doubting the idea that the boot needs to be re-soled, but we move on to discussing the zippers. At this point I am informed that the only shop that Ariat approves to work on its boots will not put zippers in boots that didn't have them before. I know adding zippers is common, so I'm shocked. I call Ariat. They tell me that they don't "allow" zippers to be added to their boots, but I was welcome to buy a new pair that already had zippers. They were even ready to tell me the page number in the catalog. Big mistake on their part. These are $500 boots, lightly used, and they're telling me I have to buy a new pair if I want zippers?