83 replies to this topic

#1 Palouse_lover

Palouse_lover

wait, I missed it again, what happened?

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 612 posts

Posted 08 December 2010 - 11:09 AM

I'm looking for a horse for my boyfriend, who is over 300 lbs. What size horse would you recommend. I'm thinking a draft cross. Any ideas? Any rule of thumb to go by?
Spotted rumps give me goosebumps!

Happier than I've been in my whole life! Who would have thought, just changing one little thing.....Not me!

#2 mehpenn

mehpenn

Christian Cowgirl

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,143 posts

Posted 08 December 2010 - 11:38 AM

I've got lots of personal experience with this, as my DH is 300#'s.
One thing I've learned is that taller does not necessarily mean it'll be a good fit.
My DH's horse is 16.2HH, which isn't HUGE but is larger than the average horse, especially in my area. And what I've found is that DH's horse is very difficult for him to get on. I'm not saying DH's belly has anything to do with it *clearing throat* but he'd definately have a easier time on a shorter horse.

~Mary~
Penley Farms

~*You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the great and first commandment.*~

#3 Andi

Andi

Exalted Henchman

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 11,872 posts

Posted 08 December 2010 - 11:57 AM

Height isn't an issue. The horse's build and weight distribution and conformation is. The proper saddle to make sure it fits the horse correct is important. If the 300 # rider isn't a good rider or isn't a balanced rider, that makes a difference. Using a step/mounting aid is critical for the horse's comfort as well.

As a general rule of thumb, figure the horse can pack about 25% to 30% of it's own weight, if the horse is in good condition, with a good fitting saddle. So, 1000 # horse can pack about 250-300 lbs of tack and rider combined, which usually means a 200 lb rider with a 50 lb saddle.