103 replies to this topic

#1 NCTrailgirl

NCTrailgirl

Dare to be Bare...

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,353 posts

Posted 18 August 2007 - 09:09 PM

What do you guys think of the feeds? I've been feeding Equine Adult for many years. (we don't have any pasture and no hay) They've been getting this complete feed in place of hay.

We found a new place that deals with Nutrena. We picked up a few bags of Horse Kwik (their versioin of complete)

Does anyone have any personal experience with Nutrena? Is it a good feed?

Thanks all!

#2 BuddyRoo

BuddyRoo

Bandwagon Driver

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 42,313 posts

Posted 18 August 2007 - 09:11 PM

When my gelding had to go on a complete feed, my vet at the time recommended Purina. So I tried it.

Then I started doing research.

At the time of my research, I found the following:

-per serving, the Nutrena was better nutritionally
-the Nutrena was made to one standard, where the Purina varied depending on which plant it was made at.
-the Nutrena was less expensive
-the Nutrena was MORE palatible to my horse

I switched to Nutrena. And was very happy with the product.

Since then, I have fed a number of different Nutrena products.

#3 WildHorseSpirit

WildHorseSpirit

• Members
  • Pip
  • 425 posts

Posted 18 August 2007 - 09:23 PM

We use Nutrena.
I used Purina for over 20 years but as Buddy shows is one of the reason why I switched.

I still like Omelene 100-300 and Equine Senior but I will now only use Nutrena Lite Balance or Safe Choice or Prime.

My horses don't get the stuff they can't have or need in Nutrena.

#4 NCTrailgirl

NCTrailgirl

Dare to be Bare...

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,353 posts

Posted 18 August 2007 - 09:54 PM

That's makes me feel better about Nutrena. It sounds good on paper, but I didnt' have any personal experience. It's whole lot cheaper than the Purina. We are currently feeding a bag of Equine Adult a day (plus BP, BOSS, and Alfalfa cubes) and it's getting the better of us.