Quantcast

Jump to content

SallyQ4

Member Since 13 Feb 2004
Offline Last Active Feb 10 2013 10:30 PM

About Me


  Where do you start when you have lived so many lives in my 56 years? I am a native Oregonian, born and raised near Portland, went to nursing school in Minnesota, married and raised my two daughters in Eugene, divorced, and moved onto a boat in Mexico, first spending summers in Eugene, then living full time in La Paz (Mx), then moved to Arizona so I could fulfill my dream of having and living with horses again- with a new partner aka DH.
I had a backyard horse when I was a teenager- the most patient, trusty first horse you could wish for- and he was my wish come true- I never gave up wishing for a horses every birthday. My parents were non- horsey, wouldn't take me to lessons, so I learned by doing, and reading- in the days before the internet. When I was old enough and on my own, I started taking lessons, bought an OTTB and showed in hunter classes in Minnesota. Again I lucked out with a real gem of a horse, and had a great time- even taking time off from school to become a working student at the stables (even lived there!). But had to rejoin the reality of getting back to school and then supporting myself as an RN.
I tried to keep riding after marrying and having kids, but my daughters preferred ice skating to horses. As a working mom it was hard to fit in riding. When I became disabled, then divorced horses seemed way beyond my reach forever- no money.
When I finally had back surgery, I put a photo of a horse in my wall, in my purse- as a goal to some day again ride. It took a while, and we have been in AZ for three years now. It was the only place we could afford a place of our own. We both needed to be closer to health care. DH is from this area- so we are near his family- a big Mormon one- we are not Mormon.
But we have a nice home, added a four stall barn, and put in pipe fencing and panels, and started collecting our equine family.

Community Stats


  • Group Members
  • Active Posts 1,154
  • Profile Views 2,334
  • Member Title Advanced Member
  • Age 62 years old
  • Birthday September 15, 1952
  • Gender
    Female Female
  • Location
    Southeast Arizona AKA Patch of Sand
  • Interests
    horses first and always, used to ride hunters, now trail, but next?

User Tools

Friends

Latest Visitors