Sign in to follow this  
SerahRose

what do you work on for training level?

So--I tell my boss that I've taken a few dressage clinics and shown dressage a few times, and suddenly she thinks I'm a trainer!? haha She will be at Scottsdale for the following month and has me riding/training the two dressage horses, and working all the saddleseat horses as well!

The one dressage horse I am super familiar with and have been training on quite a bit--working on rounding and using himself better and such--no problem with him

However, this new one she has me riding is a national champion arab sporthorse--and I told her I feel underqualified to be "training" him--but she's just like "do training level stuff with him"

To me, training level "stuff" would be stretchy trot, round circles, collection and smoothness in transitions, etc.

HER training level stuff is shoulders fore, haunches in, flying changes, leg yielding, etc.

I've trained those sorts of exercises before and am comfortable with it, but I want to know what you other training level (or people that have been there...lol) work on with your horses in daily exercises, and what you feel is especially important in a training level horse?

No collection at training level. Collection doesn't come till 2nd level.

Most people who are showing training level will be schooling 1st level at home. However, 1st does not include flying changes or haunches in. Those come later.

So I would say it depends on this horse's level of training as to what you do with him. Sounds like fun!

yea..he is a fun horse...he has no mouth though--I was told I could use whatever I wanted for a bit with him, so i reverted to one of my faves--a myler d-ring snaffle. So as I proceeded to ride in the snaffle, she then tells me I should be riding him in a loose ring twisted wire!? make up your mind people! [Razz]