Sign in to follow this  
shamr0ck.stalk3r

Your Favorite Trainers

What are your favorite trainers, books, rider/horse teams?

I'm new to dressage and would like to learn all I can. Where are some good places to start that I can look into that doesn't include a horse? I can't afford lessons right now.

Who have YOU learned from? Who inspires you?

Thanks.

Dr. Reiner Klimke has been my inspiration for well over a decade, even though he passed away some time ago. His videos (there are two different series) demonstrate and explain very, very good dressage.

I also really love the books by Charles de Kunffy, but they are rather technical and if you're new to dressage they might be a bit difficult to understand.

"My Horses, My Teachers" by Alois Podhasky (spelling) is an excellent book about dressage that is fun and easy to read.

"Ahlirich, the Making of a Dressage World Champion" by Dr. Reiner Klimke is another good, easy to read book.

Watching videos of competitions is always fun and educational.

And if you can't afford a horse or to ride right now, go to some shows in your area and volunteer!!!! Also, see if volunteers are needed at any clinics, and if not, at least go and audit.

Riders: Chris Bartle, Steffen Peters, Lisa Wilcox.

Trainers: WAZ, Kyra Kyrklund, W. Museler

[ 04-18-2008, 01:08 PM: Message edited by: lightness ]

Charles de Kunffy is one of my favorites, he has a video called seats and aides I, i assume there will be a II soon. it is easy to understand and taught me a lot. but his writings are a little harder to read...i like the video because even if i dont know exactly what he just said, i can rewatch it or just see the action of what he is talking about

I have had the pleasure of riding with Ed Rothkranz, he done several clinics where i board. i really like him too.