Sign in to follow this  
bwillis

Trimming From The Top Question

I've been looking at this type of trimming, mostly because it's easier for me to understand.

This is the site I've been looking at:

Iron Free Hoof-Trimming From The Top

But I wanted some advice from those who practice it or are familiar with the process.

I'm good with the whole addressing flares thing. And even good with finding the triangle.

But the roll doesn't seem real very aggressive at all. In the instance of a stretched white line would it be better to put a slightly more aggressive roll in order to relieve the torque at the toe?

That's the first one. I'm sure that I'll have more. [Wink]

Edited to add the link.

[ 01-06-2008, 01:56 PM: Message edited by: BethanyW ]

Bethany, obviously I'm a newbie at trimming myself....but from what I can see, I don't particularly like their finished product. I agree...I address some flaring from the top--

But looking at those pictures...all I see on their "roll" is thinning of the hoof wall--not bringing the breakover back--which is MY goal in a roll.

Maybe I'm misled? [big Grin] I dunno. But when you think about doing a roll, it's not about pretty--it's about function. And when you roll from the bottom up, you are increasing the breakover and the hoof wall is off the ground.

When your roll from the top, you are merely thinning the hoof wall and not really bringing the breakover back at all. Which in my mind, leaves you at risk of stretching the white line due to torque.

Now, all that said...if you're trimming every week or every two weeks, maybe you are keeping the hoof in good enough condition that this method makes sense.

But for your average horse owner who goes anywhere from 4-8 weeks between trims, this seems like a trim with minimal functional value.

IMHO, of course.

Broo, that's half the problem I'm having with it.