Sign in to follow this  
dixieangel02

Ground Work Problems

I have been working with my mothers mare for about two months getting her to calm down some. She had no idea of personal space. But now when i go to work with her she doesnt respond PERIOD AT ALL. I use a stick like Clinton Andersons and when doing desensitizing i have a platic bag on the end of it. But today i didnt have it on there i was just working on backing up but she isnt scared or responsive to it at all!!! I have used it a whip a lead rope i also put the bag on the stick and it doesnt work nothing does. I will use the lead rope and jerk it slightly to get her attention and NOTHING. I feel like i have done to much desensitizing now!!!Is there anything i can do or anything else i can use to try and get her to move? if you guys need any more info or anything just ask its hard to think of everything right off LOL

I guarantee that you are not using it like CA does. She would have backed up for him. This is how it works:

1) Ask

2) Tell

3) Make her wish she had listened the first time.

Now, for (1) pull down and back on the lead rope and say "back!" This is what you want in the future, so give her a chance to do it this way now.

For (2), tap her on the chest with your stick. (I prefer a piece of twisted up baling wire that I keep folded up in my back pocket.) Make it a pretty good ?tap? because you know she is just going to tune it out.

Then (3), make her WANT to back up. Make her wish she had backed up instead of ignoring you. Hit her hard 3 or 4 times on her chest, jerk the lead-rope pretty hard and walk toward her in a very menacing way and TELL again. Since you have previously just nagged and pecked at her without being effective, it will take a pretty good thrashing to get her respect.