PoisonWhisper

Regumate

I have just gotten my filly under saddle at the beginning of this summer and have been working with my trainer and he thinks that she needs to go on regumate because of her "mareish" attitude. I kind of like her the way she is to be honest. She can have a attitude but never a agressive one. She just says no at a certain point in training and takes her a while to get over that. But we do get over it. My trainer said to look into it and after another month of seeing how she is we might want to put her on it. But i have a bunch of questions about it. I plan on breeding her after her "show career" (lol) is over. Will that have any effect on her ability to concieve? Is there anything that works the same and is "natural" or alittle cheaper? I'm a college student that has a job but not sure if i can afford regumate...how long does it usually last before you run out? a month? need to be educated on this. I've been researching alittle and heard there is a shot also that is cheaper? any information would be greatly appreciated! thanks!

Here are my thoughts. While it is legal to show a horse on regumate, in my mind it is a form of cheating.

Stallions are under the influence of hormones constantly, yet are trained to ignor those hormones under saddle.

Oh, I know, some stallion owners also cheat, using hormones to supress the testosterone, but that is not legal

Bottom point being, part of a stallion's appeal when it comes to chosing a stud is disposition-a stallion that is mannered to he point that he ignors mares in season when he is under saddle or handled on the ground other than for breeding

Many mares are ridden by non pros and youth, and thus are just like geldings for part of the month, and then have hormones to be dealt with the other part of the month. Instead of expecting the same type of discipline that is instilled in a stallion,the cop out and easy solution is to put that mare on hormones