Sign in to follow this  
Horsegirl4

Be Coming A Horse Trainer

Ok so I need some advice on my new career choice. I LOVE horses and have been training my personal ones for 11+ yrs. I have extensive knowledge on getting them trained and things like that. I guess I'm not your typical young adult as I'd rather be cleaning the stable and training horses more then hanging with friends. I only use natural horsemanship, and I follow Clinton Anderson ONLY! His methods work wonders for me and my horses. I was going to be a large animal vet (mainly for horses) but I found after I had to put my oldest down I just couldn't do it and not cry. I know kind of lame but that's where I'm at. Heck, I even cry when it happens on tv on those animal cop shows. Even though I know it's for the best. I find great joy in teaching a horse and watching them get it.

My deal is would it be a wise career move on my part? I know the hours are tough and days are long but I'm use to that so it's no big deal.

What would a trainer charge for a horse to train for a month? $300? $400?

I like stock horses. Would it be ok to work with them mainly? You know QH, paint, appy that type of thing.

I think it would be good for me to be a horse trainer but I would love advice or opinions.

Thanks

First thing, do NOT, I repeat NOT ever allow yourself to be mired into just 1 trainer or clinician's methods. No matter how many horses you have trained in the past, no single method of training will ever be a "one size fits all". Ever.

Instead, read up on *all* the big name clinicians out there, study their methods and the differences in their methods. Use what works for the horse in front of you and file away the rest.

And on the Vet part?

It's OK to cry. Actually, having a Vet that *doesn't* give a rip is a FAR WORSE thing than one who cares. The ones who care are the ones most in need, in my opinion.