Sign in to follow this  
hansonmkusa

How To Use A Running Martingale - Western Riding

Would like to get some advice on working my horse in a Running Martingale (all leather). I have never used one before -- we ride in western tack for trails mostly. I have some friends who have RM on their horses and told me to get one, they say it helps with flexing, etc.

I know I will have to buy rein stops and to use a snaffle bit when riding in a RM. Just need some exercies to use and how to get started.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

~MH

Edited by hansonmkusa

Instead of putting that on. Teach your horse to flex from the ground, first with a rope halter. Then, once he can flex his head around to his shoulders, start over with a bit in is mouth. Training always trumps mechanical devices.

Instead of putting that on. Teach your horse to flex from the ground, first with a rope halter. Then, once he can flex his head around to his shoulders, start over with a bit in is mouth. Training always trumps mechanical devices.

Ditto.

Thank you all for the advice. Will do the ground work from the ground on flexing for sure. What is a running martindale really good for, just wonder. I have never used one before, was told from other horse ppl to get one tho?

~MH

If you don't know what it's for and don't know how to use it, the best bet is to work with a qualified trainer. ELSE, you are setting yourself up for a potential wreck as well as really really bad training.

It FORCES the horse to comply by putting downward pressure on the bars of the mouth. It teaches nothing but resistance and makes a horse's mouth even harder than before. Teaching him to flex by standing at the girth, putting an ounce of pressure on the lead and when he gives to the pressure, releasing the lead completely so he can turn his head right back to forward, IMMEDIATELY when he complies is the way to go.