LMK1975

Bit Suggestions

My horse is being used by three 10 year olds for beginner lesson's once a week in a round pen (at least for now). He is really laid back and calm but he is large and he knows it. He is a 15.2H stout fellow. The teacher told me he was doing very well except sometimes he is trying to eat grass. The kids are small and are no match for him, especially since they are beginners. They are having a hard time getting his head back up. She wants to try another bit. Right now I am using a Myler Comfort Snaffle, D ring. I don't want to go to something harsher because they are beginners and will bump him in the mouth on occassion. A regular jointed snaffle will not work because of his previous owners not knowing how to ride. He puts his nose in the air and evades the bit when you use that. He likes the 3 piece action of the Myler bit.

Is there a bit that will allow the kids a little umph without really being harsher? She suggested a french link but I have no experience with them or how or why they are used. The only bits I have other experience in are leverage bits which I would think may be too harsh for this horse. Kimberwicks, pelhams, a grazing bit for WP or the infamous twisted 'O' ring snaffle they start all WP horses in. They will NOT be using that one!

Any suggestions?? Or other options besides changing bits?

I don't think a french link is going to give the kids any more "oomph" than the Myler he's currently in. Honestly, at 10 I think they should be old enough to learn how to stop him from eating and putting his head down. It's not just about pulling his head up, but using leg to drive him forward. Even as beginners they should be able to learn how to keep him going. That would be my suggestion rather than putting a stronger bit in the hands of beginners.

have you thought about an Anti-grazing device? they work pretty well! I agree the kids need to learn, but you don't want to frustrate them into quit'n right off the bat!20$ Horseloverz.com