Sign in to follow this  
myhorsewalksalloverme

Why Can't I Just Ride?

I have been riding dressage with an instructor for 6 months now and have been progressing well. Gems has been making HUGE progress. I bought my saddle used approx 4 months ago, a 17.5 Passier GT-long 17 flap. I just got the front end re-flocked a month and a half ago and am very pleased with how the saddle fits Gems and she seems happy with it also.

I am currently at a plateau(sp?) in our progression. I feel that maybe it is my saddle. When I bought my saddle, I thought that it actually felt like I could have used an 18 seat. However, since I have now correctly learned how to sit and where to sit in the deepest part of the seat, the saddle seems a bit large and cumbersome. It feels like when I am correctly sitting in the deepest part, my saddle goes on for miles behind me. I understand that I still have a weak core and it takes work to create the strength to continuously sit in that sweet spot. I am constantly sliding back to the widest part of the saddle, was back towards the cantle. I just can't stop it...even with my core engaged, I slowly drift back.

My trainer said that first of all, she thinks the seat is too large for me. She tried to talk me into originally getting a 17 seat, but b/c at that time, I had not learned how to sit, a 17 felt too small. She said that when I have a well developed seat, I can handle a larger seat, but being a beginner, there is no point in fighting to stay stable in this saddle. She also said that the flaps are too long as now I understand b/c of my longer legs and the fact that gems has a small barrel, I have to ride with shorter than average stirrups and now my flap is getting in the way of my aids. She said the flap would work for me if I was riding a larger barreled horse.