Sign in to follow this  
DraftyGirl43

Wintec Saddles

I've been using a Wintec AP saddle constantly for about 5 years now and have just found out that the tree is cracked. I'm debating if I want to buy another one or if I should go with something different this time. I don't show and I don't jump, only trail riding so I don't need anything fancy. My horse is a 17.1 draft cross with a good withers, not flat or mushy like some drafts can have. He is a large boy with a broad back.

Any ideas or suggestions? Any other saddles you think might work for me? I would like to keep it under $600 and would be willing to buy used.

Thanks!

I would suggest buying a good quality used leather saddle. I've got a lot of experience with Wintecs and I don't think I will ever spend money on one.

The barn I currently work at adores Wintec and probably has about ten for lesson horses and such. The problem I have seen and experience myself is that they slide all over the horses back. Whether its an all purpose, dressage, etc. Each one of them seems to have that problem.

ETA: You can find great used english saddles for under $600. Especially if you take your time and look for deals. I got my two year old Stubben Lohengrin for $550 (plus $100 leathers and $50 irons). The original price for the saddle was $2500.

Edited by JumpinJax