Zoe84

Split Manes?!

What does everyone think this might mean? I can't find much info on the net about it...Over the years I have been told (and believed) that the horse is balanced (muscular) and even. Since I have been trimming my own horse, all of a sudden his mane is completely split the whole way down his neck. (He's the one with the spurs in his hocks) I thought there is NO WAY that I can just start trimming my horse (being self taught and all) and for it to work positively. (plus he is sounder than he has ever been, big tick for me!) Then I found a forum in Australia about it and the theory is that horses that have back end problems have the split mane! I can't believe that this would happen so quickly in my gelding (almost overnight). His mane is long and untrimmed (since he can't do any flatwork/dressage I don't feel the need to trim it) so it would take some effort on mother nature's part to split it!

P2230577.jpg

edited to include forums found:

http://www.stockyard.net/vbulletin/problem-horses/46165-divided-mane-means-back-end-problems.html

http://forum.horsetopia.com/general-horse-advice/71403-mane-falls-side.html

Edited by Zoe84

well for a while Linda parelli had a thought that it was back/muscle related. She made a huge deal about it, and there seemed to be some evidence. However I haven't heard them mention that in ages. My horses have gone through some mane flips now and then. If it does have to do with the back then your trimming/his soundness might have something to do with it. who knows. Its an interesting thing they do!