Sign in to follow this  
alegnia

Even The Best Horse Can Have A Bad Day

I am a vet student very soon to be a veterinarian. I deal with strange horses on a daily basis from track thoroughbreds with zero manners, to spoiled rotten pasture pets, to expensive show horses that know they can get away with stuff. And lets just say you don't become a vet to be the horses best friend. We are always doing things they do not like and therefore have to aways remember SAFETY SAFETY SAFETY (though when we have to inject a certain hock joint that demands we reach across the hind legs of a horse, and poke a needle into its opposite hind limb we gladly do it)

So after dealing with all these angry, painful strange horses which horse injures me? MY OWN.

I have cleaned Eurus' sheath countless times, unsedated, just tied in a stall. He has always been fine. Had him sedated to float his teeth last week and thought "sheath cleaning will be WAY easier sedated". BAM. I got struck/kicked not once, but twice, by my own horse who has never kicked before in his life. Why did I get kicked? You could blame the sedation, you could blame the tick on his whowho, or you can blame me, for letting my guard down and not being as vigilant simply because I knew the horse.

This messsage goes out to all to remember that a horse is a living, thinking, not always predictabe creatue. Even if you have known the animal since birth (like me and Euus) SAFETY should always come first.

I will step down from the soap box now :ashamed0002:

253425_749696416415_120408901_38944475_6912996_n.jpg

Hard as rock hematomas in your knees = not worth it