Sign in to follow this  
Ponies.Only

Barrel Question

Hi! I'm new to Horse City!

I love to barrel race!

I had a question, though. My pony always wants to skip barrels. He's not totally focused and stuff, so he won't turn it all the way, if you get what I'm saying. He's fast and all, but his turns are just screwed up. How do you suggest I fix this in a week?! I have a barrel race in 9 days, and we're not that good yet and I really want to do well! :)

Thanks!

I love to barrel race!

I had a question, though. My pony always wants to skip barrels. He's not totally focused and stuff, so he won't turn it all the way, if you get what I'm saying. He's fast and all, but his turns are just screwed up. How do you suggest I fix this in a week?! I have a barrel race in 9 days, and we're not that good yet and I really want to do well! :)

Thanks!

1st things first Welcome to Horse City! I too share a love of barrel raceing :happy0203: To answer your question, I have some good news/advice for you and some bad too. I don't think that a week is enough time to fix the problem compleatly sorry! You should be able to start to correct the problem though. It will take time and patience.

If I am reading your post correctly and understanding it right your horse is blowing his turns by not compleating the turn fully. This is how i would correct the problem. When I am practicing I turn the barrel more than once. I do this by seting up for the turn just as I would if I was going to do a normal run but insted of leaving the barrel I keep turning it. I may have to circle the barrel 6 or more times but I keep going until my horse relaxes and quits trying to go to the next barrel. Then I move on to the next barrel and repeat. I also change up the pattern often to keep my horse guessing. The idea is to teach the horse to wait on you. I do this at a trot until I feel that the horse is ready to move on to the lope.