jestergurl200

Should I Be Paying?

I posted an ad on the internet looking for horses to ride, as I am not at home again for school, and as such, don't have a horse. I didn't say that I was looking to pay to ride, but also didn't say I was looking to be paid. I have a lot of experience with greenies, and was a working student for a dressage coach, where I learned a lot about putting basic dressage work on young and/or green horses.

I got an email from someone looking for me to put a little more dressage work on her horse, saying that I could show the horse in the spring if I wished, and could I jump as well, as the horse is learning to jump. The person concluded the email stating that they would not charge me much to ride, as I would be helping with the training of the horse. So, what do you think, should I be paying to ride the horse, should I be being paid, or should it just be a mutually beneficial trade-off?

Most of the people I know from my riding past keep telling me that I should not be riding for free, as I usually end up with horses who have holes in their training, or who have been allowed to get away with misbehaving through intimidation or other tactics (rearing that is not caused by pain, bolting, spooking, etc), which puts me at risk of injury. Not saying this mare is like this, I don't know anything about her other than what was in the email, but what are your thoughts about paying someone to ride your horse, as opposed to them paying you? I am not really sure how to respond to this, as I don't want to sound rude, but I also don't want to possibly pass up a good ride. Help?

I don't think you should be paying her because you are putting miles and training on her horse, however because you are also getting something out of it (showing, a horse to ride, etc.) she shouldn't really pay you. also if your an amateur would you be willing to lsoe that status to be paid? if she'd even be willing to pay you.

If you have to pay tho id say no