Sign in to follow this  
LadyGallows09

Driving Breeds?

What breeds of smaller horses or ponies seem to be more inclined to have the right mind set to drive? I'm very new to driving, and I can ride well, but I have a bad back and my Chiropractor has forbid me riding. I mentioned driving and he was fine with that. I think it'd be fun to have a chariot or a lil 2-wheeled cart to ride around in.

I'd like to stick with a smaller horse, some 14 hands or a lil smaller. What would be some good suggestions? I wouldn't be opposed to a smaller mule either if it would be a good option. I don't plan on buying for some time, I'm just information gathering and learning for now. I do have a friend at church who has mules and give wagon rides, so I have someone I can also learn in person from.

I love my little APHA mare. She has a kind and gentle disposition with just enough flair and fun thrown in to be a joy to drive. She is 14.1 hands right now as a 4 year old so probably will not get a whole lot taller. She has that good ole laid back QH additude. I like her well enough that I am seriously looking for a match for her. I'd love to have a pair of black bald faced overos.babyinharness-1.jpg

Does anyone have any experience with driving a TWH or SSH?

I lost my beloved Just Katie, an Arabian, in early March to colic. I am now thinking about beginning the search for a new riding and driving partner.

I am leaning towards a gaited horse due to back issues.

However, I love driving and want to continue to do both. FWIW, I only plan on recreational driving, no showing. The ND was a great experience and I would love to attend again in the future.

Any thoughts, hints, tips, advice, dire warnings?

just about any horse can learn to pull a cart. i drive a new forest pony and fjords two-in-hand. my tastes run to small to medium-sized breeds but it really is "a matter of taste".