GallantGirl

Help! My Horse Doesn't Want To Go Home!

I am hoping someone can help me out with my problem with my horse. I have been riding for almost 30 years and have never experienced this problem.
I have a 7 year old gelding who is super smart. Last summer he developed a habit that I can't seem to figure out how to stop. He loves to go out riding, loves to go exploring, loves to have a job. My problem is that when I turn around to come home he doesn't want to go. He has a small little fit ( a little rear) and then locks up his legs and won't move. I have tried turning him tight circles but he will almost tip over instead. I hold his head right tight to my foot but he doesn't care he'll leave it there for many minutes withouth even changing his facial expression. I have used a crop and get nothing from him. He stands firmly in place and won't move. His back leg just relaxes and he just stays put. My friend who rides with me comes up beside me an pulls on the reins and he'll finally move but only a few steps an then he locks up again. If I can finally get him turned around to go back out he is then fine. I have tried riding him in different places but he knows the turn to the point when we are heading home and this all starts again. He doesn't care if my friend rides off and leaves us alone either. He loves our barn, gets lots of attention and food there and has 3 other barn mates that he loves so it isn't like he hates to go home becuase it is a horrible place.

I am at a loss as to what to do. My next effort is to just let him stand (even though he'll stand there for 15 mins and then take 2 steps and it starts all over again) but I feel like perhaps I'll just have to do this over and over and perhaps he'll get bored and stop this habit.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!