Sign in to follow this  
GreyDrakkon

Lopsided Hoof

So I'm leasing a mare who's been barefoot all her life (as far as I know) and when I started riding her, she had some pretty badly contracted heels which were underslung, with overgrown hoof wall and some really badly folded over bars.  Every now and again she would trip (in a fairly flat arena!) and she paddles in the front, just like her mother.  Now, whether they paddle because they both happen to have the same build, or the same kind of feet, I don't know.  What  I do know is that I've been taking a rasp (and more recently a hoof knife) to  their feet (Goblin far more often because I ride her) and the tripping as well as the paddling have improved.  (I'm sure some of that is due to building up muscle though)  In any case, I know the front feet are thrushy even though they have varied terrain in their paddock including high ground that's pretty dry.  I've been treating for thrush in the past week and I'm starting to see some improvement already so I'll keep at that, and I figure getting the heels down and bringing the frog down to give it a chance to contact the ground has been helping with that.  The super deep overgrown bars were NOT helping either, since it allowed crud to pack tight in there with no chance of getting out.  Anyways, here's some pictures, let me know if you need better ones for assessment.