Sign in to follow this  
little cow

Best movies for kids?

Parents are bombarded with garbage movies or movies targeting kids that are rated PG-13.  As far as Disney goes, well, it seems like every one of them has an agenda or some political message.  In addition, as a teacher, I'd like to throttle every last CGI person that works for Disney.  Kids have short attention spans, yes, but there is no need to make movies faster paced and MORE obnoxious.  The movies that the big guys make now are so fast, they will make you dizzy.  I could only stand Big Hero 6 once.  Video game speed is too fast.  Slow these dang kids down instead of hyping them up even more!

Oh, and all the PG-13 movies that the 5 year olds are watching is NOT making my job easier.  Look at the ratings, people.  Your little tyke doesn't need to see the intense new Star Wars movies or all the superhero movies.  They aren't for little kids.  Our son is 9.  He hasn't seen them.  The original Star Wars movies are enough for now.  

What does our son like?  He likes lots of classic movies.  Some are even (gasp) black and white.  He can watch anything PG or G.  Some he hates more than we do (anything 'girly').  That's fine by me.  I get twitchy with too much pink or princesses.   I hated that stuff as a girl!

So who is the best movie maker for kids movies?  Not Disney anymore.  They own everything now, but you can go back to the movies they didn't make and enjoy them.  Just out of spite, we watch the old ones on DVD to make sure the Disney monster doesn't benefit, lol!