LJwiz

How tall is too tall for a 14hh horse?

Hey Guys,

I am in the process of purchasing my first horse. I have grown up riding and have ridden horses of all shapes and sizes. I have been on horses that were way to small for me and ones that were too big for me. Currently I am looking at a sorrel mare that measures just under 14hh. I am 27 years old, 5ft 3in and weight 120lbs. What are your thoughts on what would be considered too tall (rider wise) for a 14hh horse? The mare I am looking at is 12 years old. Since this will be my first time owning I am wanting an older horse. I am also wanting a horse that is smaller due to some of my physical limitations that make mounting a bit difficult. She is suitable for an advanced rider which is something I like about her. I have been working with green horses for a few years now. This horse currently has more than 6 months of training under her and is making good progress. I want a horse that will still give me work to do as well. I have attached a video of her. Let me know what you guys think. I am going out to meet her for the first time on the 17th.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BHp3J5pVOjI

You aren't too tall for her. You should consider her disposition and her gaits. She looks like she may have a bumpy trot and canter from the video on the barrels. But she looks like she's going sound and is willing.

Those videos are a few months old so I’m looking forward to see how that has improved.