Lucy2603

Is He Still Possible?

I am looking into getting a second horse from my friend, he need a LOT of work, he spooks at everything and is hard to catch in the pasture, they got him from an auction and where told he seemed fine there, he was abused before they got him and before the other people got him is what I have understood. I don't know his age but I would guess he is in his teens, I will find out before I buy him for sure. Is there any chance for him to become more than just a pasture ornament and be retrained to become a good calm horse or no?

Many horses that have been abused cannot be rehabilitated. At the least you won't be able to trust him for a long time and he may be dangerous. Rehabbing an abused horse is not for a beginner.

I’m not a beginner, I just wanted another opinion on it

Edited by Lucy2603

If you haven't rehabbed an abused horse before, you are a beginner, at rehabbing horses.

Edited by jubal

Don't buy a problem that needs a lot of work unless you are ready, willing and able to put in the knowledge, time and money it requires. 

There are plenty of good horses out there that need homes.  Personally, I don't have the time or skill to fix issues from other people's problem horses.  Rather than buy a *cough-cough* "bargain" and have to spend time and good money *hoping* I can turn a problem horse into a horse that is good for me, I prefer to spend money on a good horse I know will be good for me from the beginning.

On 4/14/2018 at 6:36 PM, jubal said:

If you haven't rehabbed an abused horse before, you are a beginner, at rehabbing horses.